My ELL Resource Space

IMG_20170210_122940

My ELL corner

Depending on what ELL teacher you talk to in what district, you will get a varied response as to what kind of room/space/office they have to service the students. I have friends who share a room with up to 4 other ELL teachers, some have their own full classrooms, some have small offices, and some just have a traveling cart.

Last year, I shared a room with another ELL resource teacher who also worked with the same grades that I work with, 3rd – 5th. We had two desks in our room and one whiteboard. In the beginning of the year, we kind of split the room in the middle and had our own tables we worked at. Our schedules were different so we sometimes had students at the same time, which can be distracting, but not always.

After ACCESS testing, we decided to put up a divider and I really liked it! I did not have access to the big whiteboard or projector anymore but I did have my own small whiteboard that you can see in the picture. I also got a guided reading table instead of the rectangle table I had earlier. I used the wall to put up all my visuals as well as the divider to put up even more.

I met with all my groups here, if I was not pushing in or co-teaching. I kept most of the materials in the plastic boxes or I just put the materials I would need that day on the table so they were ready for my groups. I was blessed to only have to share with one teacher and have my own space. This year I will be moving to my own office so I am excited for that! I will share pictures from my new office once I get it all organized.

Thanks for reading! If you are an ELL resource teacher, let me know what kind of space you have!

Leave a Reply

